Home > Uncategorized > Heaven’s basement – Executioner’s Day

Heaven’s basement – Executioner’s Day

February 9, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Wow, I’m finally back…after a week of touring, rehearsing in Wales, Manchester and having my computer broken which resulted in me losing all my music.

But I return armed with a bang thanks to Heaven’s Basement. Previously called Hurricane Party and then Roadstar, I ended up doing work experience in the shop the guitarist worked in in Romford (PMT – Professional Music Technology) which apparently is where Radiohead swears on buying their equipment from. It was whilst I was here that Johnny Rocker gave me Hurricane Party’s EP. I loved it and ended up keeping an eye on them ever since.

After two name changes and countless band member sackings, the band finally seem set in stone with a new, heavier, more ‘stadium rock’ sound which I’m well up for. ‘Can’t Let Go’ enters with an almighty blast at 00: 07 secs. WHAT A RIFF. How can anyone deny the sheer balls of this track? It’s the only track (apart from Muse’s Knights of Cydonia) that I feel will literally rock your socks off.

And so it is the aforementioned intro and also the entry of a ridiculously manly solo at 3:12/13 secs which I love best. The solo’s chord change at 3:25 secs works so well, it takes the track up to 11.

\m/ ROCK OUT \m/

Heaven’s Basement – Executioner’s Day by masstsnk

  1. Rml
    February 10, 2010 at 11:55 PM

    I absolutely LOVE the riff! Now, call me crazy, but I got a slight… Robert Plant vibe from the vocals – is it too absurd? Well, as an unconditional Led Zeppelin fan, I thought "hey, awesome!"

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

