Home > Uncategorized > Britney Spears – Overprotected (The Dark Child Remix)

Britney Spears – Overprotected (The Dark Child Remix)

January 30, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

So I reveal to you my most played song on iTunes with 98 plays: Britney Spears’ Overprotected. I’m not even ashamed to admit it – Britney Spears is amazing. I have her greatest hits and even saw her live at the O2 Arena in London.

An absolutely perfect pop song – simple, catchy, slick production, moderate tempo, minor key, basic lyrics, and having Britney Spears as the popstar singing it. A recipe for instant success.

But what I also love about pop songs are their rare moments of variation, or something completely different that happens in the piece that everyone remembers – essentially what this blog is all about. And so at 2:40 a major chord unrelated to the piece’s key is played out of nowhere. Never played before or after. I beg you to drop your inhibitions, your vanity, superficiality, your denial that you could quite possibly enjoy this song, and agree that it, especially this section that I love, is brilliant. One of my favourite songs ever.

Britney Spears – Overprotected (The Dark Child Remix) by masstsnk

  1. Philip
    January 30, 2010 at 3:11 AM

    Her best album "Britney" the european edition.

  2. Rml
    January 30, 2010 at 2:53 PM

    Ha! My favorite Britney song as well, alongside Toxic! Even though I kinda gave up on her after her inumerous breakdowns (we always get a little defensive when admitting to like her, don't we?), I still love the Britney I knew when I was 15! And that bit's always been my favorite of the song too, it's just completely unexpected, completely unrelated to the song so far – and yet, fits so well. But I really didn't expect to see it here!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

