Home > Uncategorized > Danny Elfman – Etiquette Lesson (from Edward Scissorhands)

Danny Elfman – Etiquette Lesson (from Edward Scissorhands)

January 29, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Deciding that I was going to write about this track just made me tingle. This is one of those delicate masterpieces that is so simply crafted and transparent that it’s almost too precious to even listen to.

This track was made famous not only from featuring in Tim Burton’s Edward Scissorhands but also because an adapted version featured for a Chanel no.5 advert back in 1998. He has written and said in many interviews that this is his favourite score out of all that he has written, describing it as “pure and sweet, with a trace of sadness”.

The piece starts with a long, sustained harmonic on the violin (when you lightly place your finger on the string at certain parts of the violin’s neck so that it plays a note much higher than when pressed). This is followed by all kinds of wonderful percussion – glockenspiel, harp (two of them?) and then a haunting chorus entering at 17 secs. *Note that at 33 secs my favourite chord is sung – the diminished 7th. Always exciting.*

But it’s from 1:07 when the bass enters that I really love this piece. At 1:16/1:17 we hear a striking major chord/mini key change not heard at any other point in the piece. It’s so clever; and it doesn’t detract from the beauty and overwhelming sadness of the piece.

Danny Elfman – Etiquette Lesson (From Edward Scissorhands) by masstsnk

  1. Rml
    January 29, 2010 at 1:36 PM

    You are my favorite person on Earth right now. I've always wanted to know the name of this track – it enchanted me to no end when I was a child… It also made me like the movie much more, as I was scared of poor Edward… (oddly enough, it reminded me of the "Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy", from "The Nutcracker"… but don't ask me why, I was 6… perhaps because of the Christmas-y motif?)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

