Home > Uncategorized > God’s Little Eskimo – Man In The Glass Booth

God’s Little Eskimo – Man In The Glass Booth

January 21, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

I stumbled across this talented individual under the pseudonym God’s Little Eskimo at a concert in the quirky, Madchester veggie cafe Fuel a few years ago. It was such a nice atmosphere: people were sitting down around the artists, absolute silence during performances, and everyone spoke to everyone. Ideal. I give the thumbs up for this place. And for Manchester too – Afflecks Palace was unbelievable!

The quiet, shy Johnny Eskimo began his set with this song, using a loop station and gradually building up texture. I know this technique has risen in popularity, but when done properly it excels in beauty – so many more layers, harmonies and things to listen to…I’m all for it. Atlum Schema is perhaps my favourite example of someone I have seen using it so far.

Man in the Glass Booth comes from an old demo which will be very hard to find. Four layered tracks of delicate beauty, I highly recommend getting in touch and seeing if he has any left. My favourite bit has to be the chorus which first happens at 1:24. The first chord and high note sung is such a contrast from the verse. It sets off a wonderful chain of melancholic chords and timbre; perhaps better realised at 2:38 when the chorus is repeated with added harmonies.

His debut album is out now, titled ‘At Play In Borley Rectory’ but there are only 50 copies, so an email to godlittleeskimo@yahoo.com might safely secure one.

God’s Little Eskimo – Man In The Glass Booth by masstsnk

  1. Rml
    January 27, 2010 at 3:49 PM

    God, this is gorgeous! This has to be one of the most exquisite things I've heard lately… The kind of song that makes me go "already?!" whenever it ends.I love the slow build-up of it all; and yeah, my favorite part would have to be the chorus as well – and though, as you said, the beauty of it is much better realized at 2:38, the subtle melancholy of the harmonies at 1:24 is just sooo captivating… (this morning, I was actually afraid my i-Pod would just die on me after my listening to this song, specially this bit, for so many times in a row!…)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

