Home > Uncategorized > Soulwax – Much Against Everyone’s Advice

Soulwax – Much Against Everyone’s Advice

January 20, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Soulwax are an amazing dance act and their remixes of songs are so exciting, I reckon most people will agree, but I reckon that the same amount of people didn’t realise that they were a rock band before this, hitting much deserved publicity with ‘Much Against Everyone’ Advice‘.

Twelve years on and it’s still a masterpiece. Brilliant, raw production, catchy songs and even a secret gimmick of rewinding the first track to reveal another brilliant song (also found on their ‘As Heard On Radio Soulwax Pt. 2‘ dance album). It was played to me by an old family friend from when I was a wee child whom we all lost touch with, and after his wife suddenly ditched him, and thus lived alone, we thought we’d visit him.

He ended up being the second person in my adolescence to help expand my musical ears and get ime into the rock game (the first being my first ever girlfriend who’s step-dad had a pub band and taught me about Jimi Hendrix, Eric Clapton etc). Before this I was a silly chav throwing bricks onto cars and mixing UK Garage on my Citronics (I still love UK Garage by the way – I regret getting rid of them for the sake of them damaging my image). The family friend was a drummer and let me have a go. He also had a Rickenbacker and let me try that too. This experience, combined with him sitting me down and playing me these albums:

The Charlatans – Wonderland
Gomez – Liquid Skin
Simian – Chemistry Is What We Are
and:
Soulwax – Much Against Everyone’s Advice

…led me to be the rockstar I am today.

I was a changed chav. My favourite was Soulwax – couldn’t stop listening to the them. Following them as artists, I realised that they next released a dance album and this gradually got me into mashup and electro.

Even though my favourite track on the album is ‘Too Many DJs’, coming in very close second is ‘Much Against Everyone’s Advice’ (same title as the album). First heard at 37 secs is a very short, heavily distorted riff, like a prologue to the bridge. This is just before hearing “It’s time to put the record straight”, which is then repeated in harmony (which is lush), but this time saying “to stop communicating” with the guitar line gradually rising up the notes, adding SO MUCH TENSION, and then like a big climax, at 56 secs the drums do a SMACKINGLY LOUD FILL combined with very quiet but brilliant guitar harmonics and a distorted guitar playing a descending arpeggio both in the background. This begins the super-heavy riff/chorus at 57 secs which is incredible.
So much energy. So rocking. THIS IS FREAKING AMAZING.

It’s even better the second/last time it comes back at 2:33 because the drums are even more ridiculously heavy with an added crash cymbal.

Soulwax – Much Against Everyone’s Advice by masstsnk

  1. Endorphins
    January 20, 2010 at 1:25 PM

    hej,kind of crazy finding your blog just after having decided to call mine "cult bits" gne…no plagiarism though, just great minds think alike ;)(and it also seems you're italian :o)

  2. Digga-Bit
    January 31, 2010 at 9:30 PM

    great track and fantastic band…. perfect clash of rock & electronicahttp://digga-bit.blogspot.com

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

