Home > Uncategorized > Juliette Gréco – Sur Les Quais Du Vieux Paris

Juliette Gréco – Sur Les Quais Du Vieux Paris

January 13, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Ahhhhh Paris! This is what most films, people, clothes, cafes and tourists say about it. Even I say it despite me never setting foot there. One day though – anyone care to join me!? I need a French speaker as I also lack the language.

And so my desire to go to the UK’s apparently most pompous neighbouring capital came after watching An Education in the cinema. Carey Mulligan is incredible. She flawlessly displayed rebellious zeal and I really hope that she wins Rising Star at the Baftas.

This song occurs when she is having a ball in Paris with her new, older man. If I remember rightly, it shows them engaging in various activities blended with authentic clips of contextual Parisian life. If not, it is certainly what ‘Sur Les Quais Du Vieux Paris’ (‘On The Docks In View Of Paris) portrays – the stereotypical, chic Parisian life.

J’adore the lazy way the track begins, gradually speeding up and adding rhythm to the chorus first heard at 00:45 – 01:30 secs. The chorus is wonderful – such delicate orchestration and dynamics; I just love the piano playing in the background. Juliette Grèco sings so effortlessly – it’s a cross between telling someone a story in a cafe and sounding like she can’t be bothered. A notable chord is at 00:57 secs, but I premiumly [new word] love the key transition from 1:01 to 1:05.

After listening, I want to fall in love, wear clothes I can’t afford, read books I can’t understand, ride a scooter and smoke cigarettes. A tribute to the powerful influence music can have!

Juliette Gréco – Sur Les Quais Du Vieux Paris by masstsnk

  1. Anonymous
    February 23, 2010 at 11:30 AM

    hello!!!I'm a French native speaker living in Montbéliard (from france). I would like to find a British correspondent in order to improve my English.I would be happy to help you improve your French.contact me on annuaire.ent@gmail.com if you are interested and i will take you my real mail.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

