Home > Uncategorized > Tim and Sam’s Tim and the Sam Band with Tim and Sam – Rolling Hills

Tim and Sam’s Tim and the Sam Band with Tim and Sam – Rolling Hills


I’ve been looking forward to writing about this band for a long time. Alongside Luke Leighfield, it was this band that revived my love for music, watching bands and having faith that I could once feel creativity and be creative again.

During my second year, I began to really hate University – the monotonous lectures which was teaching me nothing that I wanted to learn and the stale atmosphere of Southampton was really bringing me down. So it was probably a miracle to be sitting one row in front of Luke Leighfield (whom I only met once before to play one of his tracks on my radio show) in a lecture who was telling the person next to him that he was leaving tomorrow on a UK tour starting in Edinburgh. Edinburgh. EDINBURGH. I didn’t care how much I didn’t know him – someone behind me was hours away from going on a road-trip out of this crap city, to play music, meet new people, have fun… and go to EDINBURGH. I went into autopilot and turned round and stated “I’m coming”. At no point was an invite mentioned. I didn’t care though. Luke, the adventurous type he is, hesitated for a second, but then accepted, saying that he’d pick me up in the evening.

And so began my musical life again.

We had to stay in Wales before setting off because we were apparently touring with another band who were based there. I wasn’t really moved by the information, I just went along with everything. So we ended up staying in Ewloe which is where Tim, from the band name that I’m writing about lives. It was a cosy place surrounded by fields and the positive aura of a wonderful mum. The foundations of this tour were moulding into something great.

So we set off in the morning on the long drive towards the first gig: The Southern in Edinburgh. Stopping off halfway at a service station so that we can eat sandwiches made by Tim’s mum, I discovered the amazing taste of mustard on sandwiches. This is the first of many positive changes which happened to me on this tour.

Then came the concert. It was Tim and Sam’s band to go on first with Luke headlining all dates on the tour. They began to play, and i think it was that moment that I hadn’t felt anything so hard-hittingly beautiful for such a long time…years. I rarely smile uncontrollably, and this was one occasion where it was hurting and where it was embarassing because I was a Cheshire cat. My tummy was tingling as though I had fallen in love (yes, this all sounds incredibly cringe, but that’s your fault for thinking that extreme emotions are uncool – man up). I just couldn’t believe what I was hearing. And I had 10 more concerts to go!

Being on tour, I ended up getting to know the band (and Luke) really well, and they ended up being some of the most genuinely nice people I have ever met, a criteria I think is crucial to making such genuinely nice music. You can’t fake a sound like this if you’re obnoxious.

I now regularly visit the band in Wales. They have become good friends. It is, in just about equal measure, my most exciting place to visit as well as Edinburgh. I’m going back in two weeks.

And this song is a prime example of their benevolent music. It is actually just a b-side to their Summer Solstice single, but I think it is one of their best tracks. I’m not alone, when the famously flat Tom Ravenscroft (John Peel‘s son) played it on Tom Robinson‘s ‘Introducing’ show on 6/7/09 he said: “I think there may be a very good chance that I have just fallen hopelessly in love with that record and will listen to nothing else for the rest of the year”.

So do I really have a favourite bit for something which I have praised so extensively? I do actually.

From 1:26 the piece suddenly drops to guitar and piano before the drums return at 1:45. I think this section is wonderful and I really love the chord change at 1:30 (which I think is to the relative minor). It’s as though the rest of the track builds up to this section.

The world needs more music like this – simple and to the point: Positive, beautiful music. If any label had an inkling of sense and ambition to being responsible for improving the mood of an unquantifiable amount of people, they’d sign Tim and Sam. You’ve only got to go to one of their concerts to see how pretty much everyone in the room is transfixed and transformed. I’ll lay out the options:

If you’re a label: sign them. It’ll be a crucial thing you’ll do in your life. 
If you’re a person: listen to them, watch them in concert. It too will be a crucial thing you’ll do in your life.

Rolling Hills by timandsam

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

