Home > Uncategorized > The Walkmen – On The Water

The Walkmen – On The Water


I never go onto record labels’ websites. Why would I? It’s an action that I’ve never really understood, so I thought I’d give it a go.

It was really interesting actually – the enthusiasm and passion that they give towards their artists, writing these glowing reviews and nice website layouts. I think this is most certainly true for the British independents which I was checking out, such as Moshi Moshi, Wichita, One Little Indian…

And so when I checked out Fierce Panda, the best name for a record label I have ever come across, a song started automatically playing (which is usually really annoying and inappropriate). But this song was actually beautiful. It reminded me of the dark things in life which I love, that give me a tingle in my belly because it’s a bit wrong – like Monkey Dust, Punchdrunk, and Soho…

The extremely mushy guitar sound and reverberant drums which begins this track sets the bleak tone for the rusty vocals at 00:15 secs. It’s so perfect. The vocals are kept short so that the guitar and drums can return (00:47 secs). It’s all one big build-up to the climax at 2:13.

Speaking of Monkey Dust, I was appropriately overjoyed to find out that the video was in a similar style. It gave me goosebumps. I’ll be checking out The Walkmen‘s back catalogue for sure

The Walkmen – On the Water by massime

  1. Calvin Ramsey (TooRoads)
    February 6, 2010 at 9:25 AM

    You & Me is probably one my favorite albums ever made. "Seven Years of Holiday"…..probably one of my favorite songs ever.Nice post man.-Calvin Ramsey http://tooroads.blogspot.com/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment