Home > Uncategorized > Sia – Breathe Me

Sia – Breathe Me

December 28, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

A beautiful song which I heard during the trailer for a film I’ve always hoped would be made from the book.

The book is super significant in my life – it was essentially me coming of age. A fellow employee whom I worked with during my gap year at Ottakars (now Waterstones), would spend every day telling me about the opportunities in life. I remember how narrow-minded I was, even questioning why anyone would want to volunteer in Africa as you wouldn’t get paid and it’s full of mosquitoes. It cringes me to even write that. She also gave me the book ‘Way of the Peaceful Warrior’ to read, and I swear it changed my life. I ended up leaving the band which I was committing to (we just got signed to Blue Mountain and I wanted a gap year before uni to see how things would go), desperate to travel, to find what else I’d love, and to go to uni and meet loads of new people.

All terribly fascinating, but it’s been a hard journey to this day trying to ‘catch up’ with lost knowledge and fill in my gaps of ignorance. it makes me depressed often, feeling so second-rate with other people my age with so much more basic knowledge and intellect. But overall, it’s the best thing that’s ever happened to me.

My first favourite bit has to be the beginning with the haunting piano chords and if you listen closely you can hear Sia breathing. Brilliant and relevant.

My second favourite bit is from 3:07 where the marimba is heard (one of my favourite instruments which I also learnt at university), and then suddenly everything comes back in for a great instrumental finale, ending on a great cello bow.

Breathe Me by massime

  1. Anonymous
    January 26, 2010 at 3:32 AM

    Fantastic…so haunting and great voice..close your eyes and float away…bragand

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

