Home > Uncategorized > Eels – Climbing to the Moon (Jon Brion Remix)

Eels – Climbing to the Moon (Jon Brion Remix)

December 27, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I unfortunately had to miss my final months of my final year at university due to an operation that I needed to have. Subsequently it went wrong, and this resulted in me being housebound for weeks, and weeks, and weeks…and weeks. I ended missing my final exams (this is good), missing my graduation, missing saying goodbye to friends, missing Tim and Sam’s Band supporting the Bowerbirds, and it just made me into a fat turnip as I’d sit every day on my laptop as it was too painful to move.

But one good thing to come out of it was that I discovered the Eels‘ hits album Meet The Eels. What a wonderful, varied album! Every track is brilliant. But what I love is how you’re just not sure if he’s singing with optimism or if it’s all sarcasm and cynicism. He has had a pretty shitty life, with a lot of his close family unfortunately dying. I wouldn’t be surprised if it were all the latter. I’m just not sure how some people can keep going on in life with constant disasters. I really want to get round to reading his biography, and I’ve been told by close friends that it’s great. Sometimes I feel that grand things are so much more easily achieved when you are armed with severe emotions – whether they’re great or extremely low.

Climbing up the Moon was pretty much on repeat whilst I’d sit on the sofa. It’s just so beautiful. The initial guitar strums into the rasping snare drum hit at 00:14 secs sets off such wonderful lyrics which I can only presume are about his sister (see above). But it is the chord change at 1:01 to the relative minor, enhancing the melancholy after he says Climbing up the moon. It’s as though the flute melody which follows it signifies what is to be seen when she arrives. But it is when it returns at 2:50 where the lyric and chord change is repeated many times with newly entering strings and other instruments which is where the piece peaks in it’s beauty. It feels as though it represents her triumph in climbing to the moon, escaping this world.

Climbing To The Moon [Jon Brion Remix] by massime

  1. Timlar
    January 2, 2010 at 12:37 PM

    Sorry to be pedantic, but it's "Eels" not "The Eels"…Great song though.Tim x

  2. Massimo Z
    January 2, 2010 at 1:10 PM

    Thanks for noticing this in the title Tim!I am pedantic about this too and you can see that I have it right in the main post.Mass x

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

