Home > Uncategorized > Paramore – Ignorance

Paramore – Ignorance

December 25, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Yes Paramore, I’ve been waiting for this day to talk about you for making what is, without a doubt, my song of 2009.

This track has pretty much been listened to every day from the beginning of August when I started working at the Beeb and found this CD in the box of ones to be thrown out. I’ll never look back, exposing myself to such a gold record.

It’s so gold, I really can’t pick one fave bit, I can pick so many. To be precise, if I say that every second is a fave bit, then I can have 219 favourite bits… That’s a lot of bits.

The track starts with an explosive introduction of bass slides (first heard at 00:05 secs), thumping drums and ridiculously well-produced guitars – a perfect start for me.

Everything – the constantly changing drum beats, Hayley’s immense vocals, the ever changing sections to the track. The particularly long bridge (first heard at 00:45 secs) could even be interpreted as the first of two choruses, with the second coming in at 01:10.

It’s this second chorus which makes the track: introduced by a brilliant drum and guitar breakdown (01:07 – 01:10), the chorus is so energetic, rocking, passionate, emotional, powerful, so perfect. But when she says “It’s nice to meet you so…” (01:15- 01:21 and then repeated) the song peaks in it’s energy with thrashing drums and descending chords. It’s just one big massive ‘fuck you’.

It’s so good to exercise to, if not dangerous – picking up ridiculous speeds that I’ll never be able to maintain because of the pure energy in this track. It’s good when you’re pissed off, when you want vengeance, even when you want to celebrate. At least, I use it for all of these occasions.

Just perfect. One of those tracks that I wish I wrote. I’d pay money to play this track with them. Am I bumming the track enough? I really don’t think I am. Forget Girls by Animal Collective, this really is the alternative track of 2009.

Ignorance by massime

  1. Carlos (Miami, FL)
    December 27, 2009 at 1:51 AM

    Massimo, remember me the day this blog explodes with followers… I'm musically illiterate (well not just musically!!!)… but I just had a blast reading your notes and listening to several bits… what a fantastic job you've done!I added you to my faves… keep it up and in the name of the arts, keep it as mixed up as possible!

  2. Anonymous
    December 27, 2009 at 9:44 AM

    Wow Carlos, thank you very much for such kind words! I'm really touched and it will keep me writing. At the moment I know I'm not very creative with my words but I'm trying to get to grips with posting a new blog with speed (these take quite a while). And also to try and keep the posts as simple as I can. How did you find this blog?I'll keep it as mixed up as possible!Thanks again

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

