Home > Uncategorized > Alicia Keys – Harlem’s Nocturne

Alicia Keys – Harlem’s Nocturne

December 24, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

The intro track off Alicia’s second album, ‘Diary of Alicia Keys‘, a surprising album opener of melancholic piano before the equally good track Karma.

The whole track is great, really great for running to, especially from when we hear ‘drop it’ at 00:36 secs, which begins my favourite bit/basically the rest of the track:

When I used to compose for my first band, I was obsessed with a piano playing grand minor chords, alternating with diminished 7th chords over an electric bass and drum kit. In fact, the same formula got us signed to Blue Mountain (please ignore the awful quality). So I was so happy when I cam across this track – she composed a track exactly how I like to! It also has to have a grandly produced sound, which this track and the rest of the album has.

I then started to love choral/aria-like vocals…which can ALSO be heard on this track! So I was loving it when I could hear the backing vocals gradually build up.

My fave TWO bits have to be at 00:56 secs when she keeps hammering the minor key instead of going to the dominant and the drummer stops only to play hi- hats. It’s like this smooth dip in the song to then rise back up to the next part of speech in the song at 00:58 secs (I don’t think you can call these sections verses).

The second bit has to be when the piano and plucked strings rise up a diminished 7th chord, first heard at 1:08 – 1:13. I love that chord so much, I can’t seem to not use it when composing.

Harlem’s Nocturne by massime

  1. Carlos
    December 27, 2009 at 1:24 AM

    Brilliant… sounds very Mozart like!

  2. Anonymous
    December 30, 2009 at 12:46 AM

    YES YES YES YES!I remember spinning "The Diary of…" and loving this track. So disappointed I was that the rest of the album didn't live upto the expectation raised by this song./Abbas

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

