Home > Uncategorized > The Shins – New Slang

The Shins – New Slang

December 23, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

This is one of the most beautiful rock/pop songs I’ve ever heard. Perhaps because it’s from that beautiful film Garden State. How can you not like it? It’s perfect. It makes you want to fall in love, and this is why the song fits the soundtrack so well – it does both of these things. It comes at the point when the attractive (both in looks and personality) Natalie Portman introduces this song to Zach Braff saying “You gotta hear this one song, it’ll change your life I swear”. What a compliment to The Shins too.

This isn’t the version on the soundtrack – I found this version on my computer and it’s in a different key and sounds more raw. I’m not sure where it comes from, maybe from the album Oh, Inverted World? When I heard the soundtrack version I was disappointed in how polished it sounds. So I’ve gone back to this version now.

My fave bit has to be how it starts – it gradually builds up in volume with ‘ooo’s’ over such a wonderful chord sequence until 00:40 secs where the bass descends to the relative minor, G# (the piece is in B major) and then the verse begins.

The Shins – New Slang by massime

  1. Rml
    December 30, 2009 at 2:33 PM

    I love this song! It's one of my faves in the soundtrack – but I'd never noticed the version featured in the movie (great great movie, btw) is different. And you're right, it is a less polished version, and it sounds even better, to me! Thanks for finding and posting it here!

  2. Anonymous
    January 11, 2010 at 6:00 PM

    I introduce to you what will undoubtedly be in the top 5 albums of 2010, and heck I’m expecting a Grammy. I got to preview this whole album, and… you know what? Just listen to The High Road. http://www.brokenbells.com/home.html http://twitter.com/broken_bells

  3. Anonymous
    January 19, 2010 at 7:01 PM

    Thank you for uploading this I've been trying to find this for a while, and your definitely right, it is different, maybe even a bit slower? and it's not the one of "Oh, inverted world" because i have the album and it is the same as the Garden state one i think? I like both versions but prefer this one.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

